Foundation

SIX founded the "Stiftung Sammlung historischer Wertpapiere" ("Historical securities collection foundation") on 31 October 2001. By creating the foundation, SIX hoped to acquire, maintain and expand the most historically significant collection of old international securities. Following steady expansion, the foundation's collection has now grown to comprise around 10,000 items. The collection covers all eras since the 16th century, all sectors of industry and all countries, in proportion to their historical importance. The collection includes rarities signed by famous individuals such as Maria Theresia, Thomas A. Edison and John D. Rockefeller, as well as exhibits of particular value in terms of the history of art. The foundation makes highlights from the collection accessible to the Finance Museum's visitors, and illustrates the importance of the financial sector, securities and the processing of securities.

The foundation operated the "Wertpapierwelt" museum at the SIX offices in Olten from 2003 to 2016. In the spring of 2017 SIX relocated its main offices from Selnau in Zurich to Hard Turm Park. The Finance Museum has been located at the new HQ of SIX at Hard Turm Park since June 2017.

Want more?

The Swiss Finance Museum offers Jakob Schmitz' book "Aufbruch auf Aktien. Vom Fernhandel zur Industrialisierung" ("Breakthrough by shares. From long-distance trading to industrialization") for the special price of CHF 50.00 as a comprehensive read to complement the exhibition.

Breakthrough by shares. From long-distance trading to industrialization

Jakob Schmitz

Jakob Schmitz: «Aufbruch auf Aktien. Vom Fernhandel zur Industrialisierung»

Jakob Schmitz: «Aufbruch auf Aktien. Vom Fernhandel zur Industrialisierung»

Today's global economy would not have been possible without shares. How else could large-scale projects such as dams and aircraft or costly research projects to fight cancer have been financed than by stock corporations?

The book focuses on the shares of companies in the UK, Ireland, France, Belgium and Luxembourg, the commonalities and peculiarities of which document the economic and financial history of their countries.

More than 500 high-quality and large-scale color prints complement the documentation of an important period in recent economic history. Jakob Schmitz' book is not only aimed at experts, but also offers the layperson a comprehensive introduction to the fascinating world of shares.

Stiftung

SIX gründete am 31. Oktober 2001 die Stiftung Sammlung historischer Wertpapiere. Durch die Gründung der Stiftung bezweckt SIX den Erwerb, Unterhalt und Ausbau der wirtschaftshistorisch bedeutendsten Sammlung internationaler historischer Wertschriften. Nach stetiger Erweiterung umfasst die Stiftung Sammlung historischer Wertpapiere heute rund 10‘000 Objekte. Die Sammlung enthält proportional zur historischen Wichtigkeit alle Epochen ab dem 16. Jahrhundert, alle Wirtschaftszweige und Länder. Raritäten, unterzeichnet von Berühmtheiten wie Maria Theresia, Thomas A. Edison oder John D. Rockefeller, sind ebenso in der Sammlung enthalten wie Exemplare von hohem kunsthistorischem Wert. Die Stiftung macht den Besuchern des Finanzmuseums Highlights aus der Sammlung zugänglich und bringt die Bedeutung des Finanzplatzes, der Wertschriften und der Wertschriftenabwicklung näher.

Von 2003 bis 2016 betrieb die Stiftung das Museum Wertpapierwelt in den Geschäftsräumen der SIX in Olten. Im Frühjahr 2017 verlegte SIX den Hauptsitz von der Selnau in Zürich an den Hard Turm Park. Seit Juni 2017 befindet sich das Finanzmuseum im neuen Hauptsitz von SIX im Hard Turm Park.

Lust auf mehr?

Das Schweizer Finanzmuseum bietet Jakob Schmitz‘ Werk «Aufbruch auf Aktien. Vom Fernhandel zur Industrialisierung» zum Spezialpreis von CHF 50.00 als umfassende Begleitliteratur zur Ausstellung an.

Aufbruch auf Aktien. Vom Fernhandel zur Industrialisierung

Jakob Schmitz

Jakob Schmitz: «Aufbruch auf Aktien. Vom Fernhandel zur Industrialisierung»

Jakob Schmitz: «Aufbruch auf Aktien. Vom Fernhandel zur Industrialisierung»

Ohne die Aktie wäre die Entstehung unserer heutigen Weltwirtschaft nicht vorstellbar gewesen. Wie sonst liessen sich Grossprojekte wie Staudämme und Flugzeuge oder kostspielige Forschungsprojekte zur Krebsbekämpfung finanzieren als über Aktiengesellschaften?

Im Fokus des Buches stehen Aktien von Unternehmen aus England, Irland, Frankreich, Belgien und Luxemburg, welche die Wirtschafts- und Finanzgeschichte ihrer Länder mit ihren Gemeinsamkeiten und Eigenheiten dokumentieren.

Über 500 schöne und grossflächige Farbdrucke ergänzen die Dokumentation eines wichtigen Abschnitts der neuzeitlichen Wirtschaftsgeschichte. Jakob Schmitz spricht mit seinem Buch nicht nur Experten an, sondern bietet auch Neulingen einen reichhaltigen Einstieg in die faszinierende Welt der Aktie.